Guide · federal funding
Federal truck parking awards 2026, by corridor
On 14 Oct 2026 USDOT announced $200 million for 14 truck parking projects in 12 states, an estimated 2,403 new truck spaces in total. Here is each project by interstate, with the award, the location and the planned space count exactly as USDOT’s fact sheets state them, linked to the Lot List page for that corridor.
As of 21 Oct 2026. Source: USDOT FY 2026 INFRA Track 2 award fact sheets (page last updated 15 Oct 2026), checked 21 Oct 2026. These are funded projects, not open lots. Space counts are USDOT estimates and may change. Opening dates: not stated by USDOT.
Quick answer
- 14 projects, 12 states, $200 million, about 2,403 new truck spaces (USDOT estimate). None are open yet; USDOT does not state opening dates.
- Biggest by spaces: Tennessee I-40 / I-24 (about 500 at five Pilot Travel Centers near Nashville and Knoxville, free 24/7), Los Indios, TX near the port of entry (about 305), Port of Savannah, GA (about 275), Enfield, CT on I-91 (up to 260).
- I-80 gets two: six Iowa rest areas (about 150) and a new Nebraska rest area pair at Elm Creek (120 listed, net gain about 92 after four older rest areas close).
- Largest award: Fergus Falls, MN rest area on I-94 ($27,741,777, about 63 spaces).
The 14 awards by corridor
Every figure below comes from the USDOT fact sheet for that project. “About” is USDOT’s own wording (“approximately”). Where USDOT does not say something, this page says “not stated” instead of guessing. For every project, the construction start and opening dates are not stated. Lot List pages linked in the last column list the open stops you can use today on that route.
I-24 / I-40 — 1 project
| State | Project and recipient | Location (as USDOT states it) | Route served | Award | New truck spaces (USDOT estimate) | Lot List page |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| TN | Tennessee I-40 / I-24 Freight Corridor Truck Parking Expansion Network (Greater Nashville Regional Council). New parking at five Pilot Travel Center locations; free of charge, 24/7, with amenities (USDOT). Which five Pilot locations: not stated. | Rutherford, Wilson and Knox Counties (near Nashville and Knoxville) | I-40 / I-24 | $23,959,776 | about 500 | I-40 Tennessee · I-24 Kentucky–Tennessee · Nashville · Knoxville |
I-35W — 1 project
| State | Project and recipient | Location (as USDOT states it) | Route served | Award | New truck spaces (USDOT estimate) | Lot List page |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| TX | Fort Worth Alliance I-35W Corridor Truck Parking Expansion (City of Fort Worth). Heavy-duty pavement, LED lighting, CCTV, fencing and real-time parking availability technology (USDOT). | Pilot Travel Center near the SH-170 / I-35W interchange, Fort Worth | SH-170 / I-35W | $5,060,000 | about 100 | Fort Worth · I-35 Texas |
I-40 — 2 projects
| State | Project and recipient | Location (as USDOT states it) | Route served | Award | New truck spaces (USDOT estimate) | Lot List page |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CA | Needles Safe Truck Parking Area (City of Needles). Herringbone drive-through stalls, restroom building, fencing, cameras, lighting, Wi-Fi (USDOT). | Ice Plant Road, Needles, less than half a mile from the I-40 / CA-95 interchange | I-40 / CA-95 | $6,435,138 | about 100 | I-40 New Mexico–Arizona (eastern approach) · California |
| NC | Port of Wilmington Truck Parking and Freight Staging Facility (North Carolina State Ports Authority). Also about 50 container staging positions (not counted as truck parking) and ITS-enabled reservation and dispatch coordination (USDOT). | Port of Wilmington, New Hanover County | I-40 | $6,002,296 | about 140 | I-40 North Carolina · North Carolina |
I-41 — 1 project
| State | Project and recipient | Location (as USDOT states it) | Route served | Award | New truck spaces (USDOT estimate) | Lot List page |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| WI | Truck Parking Expansion at the I-41 Safety Rest Areas (Wisconsin Department of Transportation). USDOT says capacity goes from 34 to about 140 stalls; adds an oversize/overweight staging area and lighting. | Two safety rest areas (SRA 63 and SRA 64) on rural I-41, Dodge County | I-41 | $15,000,000 | about 106 | Wisconsin |
I-49 — 1 project
| State | Project and recipient | Location (as USDOT states it) | Route served | Award | New truck spaces (USDOT estimate) | Lot List page |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| AR | Interstate 49 Truck Parking Safety Rest Area (Arkansas Department of Transportation). New safety rest area; also about 49 passenger-vehicle spaces (USDOT). | Future I-49, Crawford County, between the Gun Club Road and Clear Creek Road interchanges | I-49 | $23,024,000 | about 137 | I-49 Louisiana–Arkansas · Arkansas |
I-57 — 1 project
| State | Project and recipient | Location (as USDOT states it) | Route served | Award | New truck spaces (USDOT estimate) | Lot List page |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| IL | Southern Illinois Truck Parking Expansion Project (Illinois Department of Transportation). USDOT says truck parking goes from 34 to about 72 spaces at the two rest areas, plus a Truck Parking Information Management System across 14 facilities. | Green Creek Southbound and Post Oak Southbound rest areas on I-57, Effingham County (per USDOT) | I-57 | $12,645,145 | about 38 | I-57 Illinois · Illinois |
I-69E — 1 project
| State | Project and recipient | Location (as USDOT states it) | Route served | Award | New truck spaces (USDOT estimate) | Lot List page |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| TX | Los Indios CMV Parking Facility (Cameron County). Includes driver amenities, security features, an automated weigh station and intelligent parking technology (USDOT). | Near the Los Indios Port of Entry; 0.35 miles of Rio Grande Avenue rebuilt for access | FM 509 / I-69E | $9,182,608 | about 305 | Texas |
I-75 — 1 project
| State | Project and recipient | Location (as USDOT states it) | Route served | Award | New truck spaces (USDOT estimate) | Lot List page |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| GA | Monroe County Truck Parking at I-75 Southbound: Weigh Station #6 and Rest Area #22 (Georgia Department of Transportation). Added inside GDOT right-of-way at two existing public truck parking sites (USDOT). | Weigh Station #6 and Rest Area #22, I-75 southbound, Monroe County | I-75 | $13,490,220 | about 109 | I-75 Georgia · Georgia |
I-80 — 2 projects
| State | Project and recipient | Location (as USDOT states it) | Route served | Award | New truck spaces (USDOT estimate) | Lot List page |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| IA | Rest I-80: Reliable Expansion of Safe Truck Parking on I-80 (Iowa Department of Transportation). Camera-based real-time parking monitoring is part of the scope (USDOT). | Six public I-80 rest areas at Mitchellville, Wilton, Victor, Minden and Underwood | I-80 | $24,545,040 | about 150 | I-80 Iowa · Des Moines |
| NE | Rebuilding I-80 Truck Parking: Nebraska Rest Area Improvements (Nebraska Department of Transportation). Replaces capacity lost when four rest areas at Cozad and Kearney close; USDOT says net CMV capacity rises by about 92 stalls. | New rest area pair on I-80 between Reference Posts 247 and 254 (Elm Creek), Dawson County | I-80 | $7,464,000 | 120 listed (net gain about 92) | I-80 Nebraska · Nebraska |
I-91 — 1 project
| State | Project and recipient | Location (as USDOT states it) | Route served | Award | New truck spaces (USDOT estimate) | Lot List page |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CT | Enfield Truck Parking Expansion Project (Connecticut Department of Transportation). Bathrooms and vending areas (USDOT). | I-91 in Enfield, north of Hartford | I-91 | $13,500,000 | up to 260 | Connecticut |
I-94 — 1 project
| State | Project and recipient | Location (as USDOT states it) | Route served | Award | New truck spaces (USDOT estimate) | Lot List page |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| MN | Fergus Falls Vicinity Rest Area Project (Minnesota Department of Transportation). Replaces a nearby rest area closed by recurring flooding; also about 60 passenger spaces (USDOT). | New rest area near Fergus Falls, Otter Tail County, serving both directions of I-94 | I-94 | $27,741,777 | about 63 | I-94 Montana–North Dakota–Minnesota · Minnesota |
Port of Savannah (SR 21 / SR 307) — 1 project
| State | Project and recipient | Location (as USDOT states it) | Route served | Award | New truck spaces (USDOT estimate) | Lot List page |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| GA | Port of Savannah Commercial Motor Vehicle Parking Area (Georgia Ports Authority). Gated public lot with fencing, cameras and real-time occupancy sensors (USDOT). | Next to Georgia State Route 21, Garden City, less than two miles from Port of Savannah Gate 4 | SR 21 / SR 307 | $11,950,000 | about 275 | Savannah · I-16 / I-95 Georgia |
Totals and gaps
- Awards on this page add up to $200,000,000 across 14 projects, matching the $200 million USDOT announced.
- New truck spaces add up to 2,403, matching the USDOT fact-sheet total. Nebraska counts as 120 in that total; USDOT also says the net gain there is about 92 because four older rest areas will close.
- Not stated by USDOT: construction start dates, opening dates, mile markers (except Nebraska’s Reference Posts 247–254), and which five Pilot Travel Centers in Tennessee get the new parking.
- Port of Wilmington’s about 50 container staging positions are not truck parking and are not in the 2,403.
Federal truck parking awards FAQ
What truck parking projects did USDOT fund in October 2026?
On 14 Oct 2026 USDOT announced $200 million from the FY 2026 INFRA program (Track 2, commercial motor vehicle parking) for 14 truck parking projects in 12 states: Arkansas, California, Connecticut, Georgia, Illinois, Iowa, Minnesota, Nebraska, North Carolina, Tennessee, Texas and Wisconsin. USDOT’s fact sheets estimate 2,403 new truck parking spaces in total. Each project is listed on this page with its route, location, award and space estimate.
Are the new federally funded truck parking spaces open yet?
No. These are grant awards for design and construction, not open lots. USDOT’s fact sheets do not give opening or construction dates, and say space counts are estimates that may change. Keep planning with the open stops on Lot List corridor and city pages.
Which project adds the most truck parking?
The Tennessee I-40 / I-24 network: about 500 spaces at five Pilot Travel Center locations near Nashville and Knoxville, free and open 24/7 per USDOT ($23,959,776 to the Greater Nashville Regional Council). Next are Los Indios, Texas (about 305, near the Los Indios Port of Entry) and the Port of Savannah lot in Garden City, Georgia (about 275).
Which interstates get new truck parking from the 2026 INFRA awards?
By route served in the USDOT fact sheets: I-24, I-35W (with SH-170), I-40 (Tennessee, North Carolina and Needles, California), I-41, I-49, I-57, I-69E (with FM 509), I-75, I-80 (Iowa and Nebraska), I-91, I-94, plus the Port of Savannah lot on SR 21 / SR 307.
Does Lot List show live parking at these sites?
No. Lot List is a planning directory, not a live lot board or booking app. This page tracks announced awards from USDOT. When a site opens, Lot List will list it on the matching city or corridor page with a source and check date. Corrections: partners@getlotlist.com.
Sources and limits
- USDOT — INFRA FY 2026 Track 2 Award Fact Sheets: Commercial Motor Vehicle Parking (PDF) — per-project recipient, location, award, route served and new truck parking spaces; checked 21 Oct 2026
- USDOT — FY 2026 INFRA Track 2 Awards — award page, last updated 15 Oct 2026; checked 21 Oct 2026
- USDOT press release, 14 Oct 2026 — $200 million, 14 projects, 12 states; checked 21 Oct 2026
Lot List is an independent US directory of truck parking and truck washes. This guide is informational. We do not invent truck-space counts, mile markers or opening dates. Confirm with the agency named on each project. Corrections: partners@getlotlist.com.
Rest area closures by interstate · Rest areas vs private lots · Overnight rules by state · All guides · Home
Something missing or wrong? Tell us when one of these sites opens — we check the agency notice.